2024 Annual Stockholders’ Meeting of Southern AgCredit Information Statement

Community, Events, Latest News - Apr 13, 2021

Southern AgCredit Awards $30,000 in Scholarships to Mississippi and Louisiana Students

RIDGELAND, Mississippi — Southern AgCredit, a rural financing cooperative, is pleased to announce its 2021 scholarship recipients. The co-op awarded over $30,000 in agriculture scholarships to 28 students.   

To qualify, each applicant had to be a current Southern AgCredit borrower, or a current borrower’s child, grandchild or spouse. Selection criteria included academics, leadership, extracurricular activities and an essay by the student.

A total of 26 students each received a $1,000 scholarship.

In addition, Southern AgCredit awarded two recipients with $2,500 agriculture scholarships. These special scholarships honor two former longtime Southern AgCredit board members — Jimmie Dick Carter and Emery Skelton. They are awarded to deserving students who attend or are planning to attend Mississippi State University and major in agriculture or a related field.

By supporting ag education with 28 scholarships, Southern AgCredit seeks to fuel the future of the agriculture industry.

“We’re proud to do our part to help these students pursue their dreams,” said Southern AgCredit Chief Executive Officer Phillip Morgan. “They have shown the work ethic, determination and drive to keep agriculture thriving in Mississippi and Louisiana. We wish them much success in their future endeavors.”

Following are the recipients and the colleges they are attending.  

$2500 – Jimmie Dick Carter Scholarship
Hanna Knight
Smithdale, Mississippi
Mississippi State University

$2500 – Emery Skelton Scholarship
James Neil III
McCarley, Mississippi
Mississippi State University

$1000 – scholarship recipients
Adyson Tadlock
Forest, Mississippi
East Central Community College

Allie Fontenot
Gray, Louisiana
Belhaven University

Amber Scroggins
Natchez, Mississippi
Mississippi State University

Anna Blackwell
Raleigh, Mississippi
Jones College

Benjamin Sessions
St. Francisville, Louisiana
Mississippi State University or UT Chattanooga

Brandon McCurdy
Poplarville, Mississippi
Pearl River Community College

Drake Clegg
Yazoo City, Mississippi
Mississippi State University

Dempsie McDill
Forest, Mississippi
East Central Community College

Eli Fratesi
Leland, Mississippi
Copiah Lincoln Community College

Emma Grace Rutherford
Rolling Fork, Mississippi
Mississippi State University

Ethan Ezelle
Morton, Mississippi
Mississippi State University

Grace Hitchcock
Mandeville, Louisiana
University of Mississippi

Gracie Wilson
Union, Mississippi
East Central Community College

Grason Marter
Cordova, Tennessee
University of Memphis

Hannah Garvin
Louin, Mississippi
Mississippi State University

Hayden Kilgore
Taylorsville, Mississippi
Jones College

Holden Brown
Louin, Mississippi
Jones College

Ivey Anne Speights
Jayess, Mississippi
Southwest Community College

Jacob White
Simsboro, Louisiana
Louisiana Tech University

Jessica Fulgham
Itta Bena, Mississippi
Mississippi Delta Community College

Kathleen Carson
Greenville, Mississippi
East Mississippi Community College

Kaylee Boykin
Rolling Fork, Mississippi
Mississippi Delta Community College

Lee Hill
Decatur, Mississippi
Jones College

Rayne Theunissen
Hollandale, Mississippi
Mississippi State University

Seth Cook
Flowood, Mississippi
University of Mississippi

Stephen Dooley
Utica, Mississippi
Mississippi State University