Southern AgCredit Awards $31,000 in Scholarships to Local Students
Latest News - Apr 20, 2022

Southern AgCredit Awards $31,000 in Scholarships to Local Students

College Scholarhips

Southern AgCredit, a rural financing cooperative, is pleased to announce its 2022 agricultural education scholarship recipients. The co-op awarded a total of $31,000 in scholarships to 28 students.

To qualify, each applicant had to be a current Southern AgCredit borrower, or a current borrower’s child, grandchild or spouse. Selection criteria included academics, leadership, extracurricular activities and an essay by the student.    

A total of 26 students each received a $1,000 agricultural education scholarship.

In addition, two recipients were awarded $2,500 scholarships. These special scholarships honor two former longtime Southern AgCredit board members — Jimmie Dick Carter and Emery Skelton. They are awarded to deserving students attending or planning to attend Mississippi State University and major in agriculture or a related field.

“These young people represent the future of agriculture, and we are proud to do our part to help them pursue their dreams. We wish them all much success.”

Southern AgCredit Chief Executive Officer Phillip Morgan

By supporting ag education with 28 scholarships, Southern AgCredit seeks to fuel the future of the agriculture industry.

Scholarships Recipients

Following are the recipients and the colleges they attend or plan to attend.     

$2500 – Jimmie Dick Carter Scholarship

Karoline Heathcock
Waynesboro, MS
Mississippi State University

$2500 – Emery Skelton Scholarship

Austin Rexrode
Hollandale, MS
Mississippi State University

$1000 Scholarships

Dock Adams
Smithdale, MS
Mississippi State University

Faith Barry
Sumrall, MS
Mississippi State University

Lainey Brumfield
Foxworth, MS
William Carey University

Grayson Childress
Brookhaven, MS
United State Air Force Academy

Kobly Donahoo
Belzoni, MS
Mississippi Delta Community College

Molly Garner
Madison, MS
University of Arkansas

Ayden Gautreau
Tylertown, MS
Pearl River Community College

Taylor Gautreau                         
Tylertown, MS
Southwest Mississippi Community College

James Hunter Hearn
Benoit, MS
Mississippi State University

Tristen Herrington
Lucedale, MS
Mississippi State University

Thomas “Trey” Knott
Bogue Chitto, MS
Mississippi College or Copiah-Lincoln Community College

Jayden Latham
Walnut Grove, MS
East Mississippi Community College

Savannah Rose McMillan 
Braxton, MS
Belhaven University

Vivian McRee 
Wesson, MS
Copiah-Lincoln Community College

Lila Murphy  
Jackson, MS
Mississippi State University

Georgia Neill 
McCarley, MS
Mississippi State University

Francesca Pham
Lawrence, MS
East Central Community College

Shelby Richardson
Biloxi, MS
University of Southern Mississippi

Emmie Shaw                                
Bruce, MS
Northwest Community College

Elizabeth Skelton                         
Greenville, MS
Mississippi State University

Zachary Ty Skelton                       
Greenwood, MS
Mississippi Delta Community College

Lilli C. Smith                                  
Poplarville, MS
University of Mississippi

Warren Toler                                
Inverness, MS
Mississippi State University

Kaitlyn Wade                                
Grace, MS
East Mississippi Community College

Charli Ann White                          
Canton, MS
Mississippi State University

Rosalea Woodard                        
Leland, MS
The University of the South at Sewanee